2023 Festival

Entries for the 2023 Festival will open at the end of the Summer. Key dates are:

  • Entry deadline: Wednesday, 30 November 2022

  • Concerto Class first round: Friday 20 and Saturday 21 January 2023

  • Main Festival: Tuesday 28 February to Sunday 12 March 2023

  • Highlights Concert and Concerto Class Final - Sunday 12 March 2023

  • St Giles' at Six - Sunday 26 March 2023

2022 Festival

The 2022 Festival concluded with a wonderful Final Evening at The Queen's Hall featured nine highlights from the Festival followed by the Concerto Final. Ethan Loch, Shakira Segalla-Humbert and Sofia Ros competed for the Audrey Innes Trophy which was won by Sofia playing Piazzolla Aconcagua Concerto for Accordion. Many congratulations to all three finalists and commiserations to Chun-Yi Kang who had to withdraw.

Thank you to all the performers, adjudicators, teachers and parents who helped make the 2022 Festival a success. Please get in touch if you have any feedback to help us improve for next year. 

The Edinburgh Music Competition Festival is a friendly and supportive festival where amateur musicians of all ages can take to the stage  alongside performers of a similar ability.


Our programme of competitive and non-competitive classes positively encourages musicians of all abilities to take part. We offer more than 100 classes for classical and traditional instruments or combinations of instruments and singers, choirs, orchestras and bands.

We use an online entry system RunMyFestival, available below for reference:

Find out more